Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet to be made in to a 3D animation by Salma Hayek

I first read Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet when I was 17 and just about to give up on school. My headmaster at the time, a man who seemed to have a lot of faith in me, was trying to persuade me to stay so he handed me the book and told me to read it, and then decide.

I’m not going to deny that Gibran’s words intrigued me. But the mere fact that my headmaster thought the book could have such a profound influence on my decision to continue education intrigued me more.

I would like to say that I miraculously changed my mind and became an astrophysicist. I didn’t. But then again I’m currently doing a Masters so maybe the book’s effects are slow-releasing.

Over the years I’ve encountered many people who have been deeply moved by this book. And since the news that the Doha Film Institute (DFI) will be co-financing the making of it in to a 3D animated movie, I have put in my order on Amazon so that I can refresh my memory. Perhaps this time I will have that revelation.

The Prophet

For those of you who are unsure of what I’m talking about, Kahlil Gibran, a Lebanese-American writer and philosopher, wrote The Prophet which is made up of 26 short ‘poetic essays’ and originally published it in 1923. The book, which was written in English but has since been translated into more than 40 languages and sold over 100 million copies, deals with themes of freedom, family, love, good and evil, crime and punishment, religion, death, happiness and sorrow – to name a few.

It has been said that Gibran is actually the third most read poet of all time behind Shakespeare and Lao-Tzu.

As the book is now in the public domain you can download it as an e-book here if you so wish.

The Film

Salma Hayek. Photo from Eva Rinaldi Celebrity and Live Music Photographer on Flickr

Each of the chapters will reportedly be directed by a different award-winning filmmaker, one of whom will be the Oscar-nominated Lion King director Roger Allers. Other directors that will be involved with the project are Marjane Satrapi (Persepolis) and John Stevenson (Kung Fu Panda).

Behind the overall production will be well-known Hollywood actress Salma Hayek who has said she has been a big fan of the book since she was a child.

Hayek said:

The Prophet has been an incredible source of wisdom and inspiration for millions of people all over the world… Being of Lebanese descent, I’m particularly proud to be part of a project that will present this masterpiece to new generations, in a way never seen before.”

DFI’s executive director Amanda Palmer said:

“Through cinema, we have a unique opportunity to also introduce a new generation to the profound works of Gibran in a way never-experienced before. It’s a passion project for everyone involved, led by Salma’s determination to create a truly collaborative artistic approach to this universally loved novel”.

